People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Power, time and turkey


May 01, 2006 - 12:39 a.m.

Here's something that should exist, and apparently doesn't: a digital camera that uses a standard, normal old USB cable to both handle data transfers and charge the battery. No stupid cradles, no weird connectors, no special magic needed. One cable, and it's standard USB, for everything.

I know it's possible: my MDA and a bazillion Motorola RAZR phones can do it every day. But not only are there no digital cameras that can do it, there isn't now and has never been one nice, standard way to connect cameras for power. At all. Even the current Sony cameras use a different power connector than earlier Sonys, and among the current Sonys, there are several different plugs for power and data.

I refuse to own yet another different weird power connector. Camera makers, use the damn USB cable, would you?

I did a bad thing earlier tonight: I went out to the Buffet Of The Stupid in Frederick tonight for dinner, and they gave me a truly monumental slab of turkey. While you're not supposed to take out leftovers, it didn't seem right to let it go to waste, so I rolled it up in napkins and brought it home. The cats were very entertained by it. Tucker got several chunks, and I think he went into turkey overload. He's currently lounging on the couch, oblivious.

I've been emailing several interesting people lately, but one of them is starting to wear out her welcome. We've been talking in email or on the phone for nearly six weeks, and still, she wants to keep talking and emailing. I figure that since she's out of town this week, I'll give her two weeks, offer to meet, and if she's not interested in actually meeting face-to-face, she gets thrown back in the pond. Her comment is that she wants to avoid a bad first date. At this rate, she'll avoid it by having it never take place. Apparently my time and energy mean nothing.

Next thing you know, she'll get curious about whether I'm talking to anyone else, and when I quite honestly tell her I am, she'll get all put off.

This is a puzzle.

And yes, the fact that she's extremely cute is a factor in how much time and slack I'll give her.


previous - next