People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

About the title


and where it came from: -

My Uncle Charlie was something of a character. He (and not I) invented many of my favorite sayings. For instance, he used to say that "mixed emotions was watching your mother-in-law drive off a cliff... in your new car."

Somewhere along in there, as a response to something one of his kids was whining about, a whine that started with "I waaaaannnt..." Charlie said, "people in Hell want icewater."

Meaning, tough shit, everybody wants something or other.

Not that Charlie didn't have an even-less-politically-correct side... a native of Chicago, he used to refer to the rush hour traffic on the Dan Ryan Expressway as "The Afro 500."

Charlie died of complications related to his diabetes in 1995, when we was barely 58 years old. I probably miss him more than any of my other relatives. He had a lot of hopes for me, I think. I wonder what he'd think of my use of his quote as a title for this website.

He'd probably laugh.


previous - next