People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Save on long distance!


April 03, 2006 - 11:22 a.m.

Sometimes I give people way TOO much benefit of the doubt.


Item: woman lives in Lake Tahoe, travels all over the world, has interesting career.

Item: woman is moving back to DC in a matter of weeks.

Item: woman, in phone conversation, reveals that a year ago, she ended a ten-year relationship with someone she refers to as "the love of her life" and wants to find another relationship exactly like it.

Item: she says she ended relationship because ten-year guy wanted to move.

Item: ten-year guy is now married to someone else.

Item: a year ago, ten-year guy moved... to DC.

Conclusion: being pretty, smart, literate, well-traveled and highly-talented does not exempt women in any way from acting like slightly-psychotic 15-year-olds.

I am serious. I talked to this woman yesterday... she literally wants a relationship just like the one she tossed overboard. She's originally from San Francisco and has lived all over the world, but of all the places she chooses to relocate, she chooses... DC?

If I was writing a crappy screenplay for some shitty afternoon movie on Lifetime, I wouldn't write a plot like this. Basically, what it sounds like happened was that this woman got pouty and didn't want to get married or relocate -- the relationship had, after all, gone on for ten years -- and the guy got fed up and left. Wastes no time in getting married, which in DC means he was probably all that and more. She's now getting pouty because all she can find in Lake Tahoe are old guys and players, so who does her mind drift back to? Ten-year guy!

What do you bet that within six months of getting here, she tries to get back with him, in spite of the fact he's married? Since she's coming to DC to look for a guy *just like* ten-year guy, odds are, she won't find another one like him here, so she'll just have to settle for... him.

Yeah.

Turtle instinct saved me on that one. I tried being realistic about this on the phone with her, and she got all metaphysical about it, about how I was "giving her negative energy" and "bumming her out" and other stupid Californianisms, and ended the call.

Hey, at least she paid for the long-distance from Nevada; I didn't.


previous - next