People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Fooling with your PSP and fooling with their system


August 18, 2005 - 3:49 p.m.

If you haven't already heard, Sony is releasing an update to the software that runs the PlayStation Portable (PSP). I've had one of these things for a couple of months and can't say enough good about it, except that it's been lacking a decent non-hack web browser.

Sony has addressed this in the 2.00 release. It was supposed to have been released in the United States "the middle of this week," but here it is, toward the end of this week, and it ain't out yet. So, like thousands of others, I jumped the gun and installed the version on the Japanese Sony website. The website is in Japanese, but all you really need to know is to scroll down and click the DOWNLOAD button. You'll get a file called EBOOT.PBP. Put your PSP into disk mode and stick that EBOOT.PBP in the PSP/GAME/UPDATE subfolder on the memory stick. Then take the thing out of disk mode and go to Memory Stick and press the X button, and you should have the "2.00 update" you can run.

Go crazy with it. I intend to. A real web browser, support for H.264 (MPEG4) video like everybody else, and a bunch of neat little things.

Tech stuff out of the way, the day hasn't been all that exciting. I have to put the front plate back on the Saab later (I can't even remember why I took it off, maybe because it was dirty or maybe it was scraping on the ground when the car was towed up to Dave for its new engine... I can't remember now) because I got stopped for not having it on. Showing it to the cop (after pulling it out from behind the seat) seemed to calm him down and convince him I wasn't a terrorist or anything, but I have to reinstall it.

You know the War On Terror is going well when Maryland State Police have nothing better than this to do... all other crime having been addressed, apparently.

I had a really disturbing dream last night, again involving the cats and again involving a house that wasn't anything like my house, but supposedly WAS my house. I've had a few of them lately, except that I seem to recall both Penny and Melody appearing in this dream, which really throws me a little.

Speaking of house, I got a statement from the jackasses at the First Horizon home equity division. Seems that they lied to their own cow-orkers about the payoff amount on my equity line when I refinanced. They want a grand sum of one dollar, thirty-nine cents. Payoff was over $32,000, and they somehow managed to be off by $1.39.

I'm debating how I'll send it to them. The old "superglue a stack of pennies together" trick might be interesting, though in this case, I think instead I will use up a bunch of my now-superfluous paper checks and send them two dozen checks for six cents each.

In one envelope.

That extra five cents will haunt them for months, never mind the fact that processing 24 paper checks will cost them around $30.

See also, "why I don't do business with those dildos any more."


previous - next