People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

More background information


June 08, 2004 - 6:29 p.m.

I got a note from someone the other day asking about something in my life. I realized that if you've been reading this a while, you may be missing some background or details that might be useful.

I'm 41, divorced from my first wife, Nancy, who left a couple of years ago. I have an ancient stone house in central-western Maryland which I share with about 16 or 17 cats. I work (for money) writing software for the federal government. I used to write a monthly magazine column for a tech magazine until they ran out of money and had to stop printing.

I have a tendency to collect up old things I like, sometimes in multiples. I have three or four Saabs right now -- one of which is strictly parts, a 1986 900 Turbo with the 16-valve engine (the only engine I like). I have a 1985 Turbo with an automatic which gets horrible gas mileage but which is useful when Melody and I have to spend any time in suburban DC traffic. I also have a very fast but squirrely 1987 Turbo, and a supremely elegant white 1989 Turbo that is currently having a little bodywork done. These are my seventh, eighth, ninth and tenth Saabs since 1991.

I have three 1969 Volvos in various stages of restoration: the four-door, a wagon, and a P1800 couple.

I have seven or eight tractors, most of which don't have to do any hard work.

I have a small camper that hasn't seen duty in years because my ex-wife didn't really like camping much.

And I have a 1979 Volvo 245 wagon that has as its only job... pulling said camper.

I have a small fleet of old Honda motorcycles that are undergoing preservation.

I have... a lotta stuff. We won't even talk about my basement.


previous - next