People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

There's always something fucking things up


June 17, 2003 - 2:00 p.m.

If it's not one thing, it's another.

The floor guys are not the problem. They called this morning and will be coming out Saturday to recoat and buff the floor. They're puzzled why the gloss finish didn't "take." Me, I'm betting he forgot it was supposed to be a gloss finish! No matter.

Allstate isn't the problem. They're coming tomorrow to get the dead Saab and then will be sending a check for it. They're fine.

Nancy is a big part of the problem. Turns out there's some last-minute snag which may force us to have to re-file the divorce. She was supposed to have resided in New Hampshire for one year before filing the motion. She had lived there about ten months, and neither she nor her first lawyer seemed to notice it or do anything about it. No telling whether this will really delay finalizing stuff, but I am betting it will.

What irked me a little is that Nancy could, I suppose, have fibbed a little. Or delayed filing. She did neither. And last night when we talked on the phone, she was getting on a high horse about "honesty." How she didn't feel right about "being untruthful in a court of law." She said, "it may seem silly to you or others, but I just can't do it."

Yeah, I guess it does seem a little silly for her to invoke holy truth now, when there were several times in her marriage it seemed way too easy for her to lie to me or mislead me when it suited her to do so. For her to get all pompous about Truth now seems pretty self-important.

If it wasn't such a pain in my OWN ass to do so, I'd almost be tempted to refuse to go along with the refiling. Do it under duress, delay things, protest stuff just to be a dick about it. But of course I won't, because I really don't want to delay it. Nancy's ability to foul things up by citing last-minute problems has resurfaced, and there's not much to be done about it except put up with it, and put up with her.

She's just being pretty damn un-friend-like lately. I have less and less incentive to be nice about this, because there's every indication from her that the moment things finalize between us, I will never hear from her or see her again, so any effort expended on being nice and civil is really only for my own self-respect right now. And I don't care about self-respect.

Much.


previous - next