People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Looking up already


June 09, 2003 - 1:45 p.m.

Funk: a short-lived phenomenon, at least around here. I am amazed at how today feels so different than last night when I wrote the last entry. I figure shit, the Saab is insured and it's not a fault accident, the cat wasn't all that friendly to me, Debra is back out in the world (she has her profile up on Match.com again, and sure enough, she showed up as #5 in my daily "search results" email from them), the peach tree can probably be saved, and things seem... OK.

One thing that I think is contributing to this good feeling is... chemicals. I've had a lifelong problem with depression, one I only started treating last year. The drugs (Effexor, from Wyeth-Ayerst) are fantastic. Sure, I can still feel "bad," but I come back from even pretty hard hits (like this weekend) a lot faster and a lot more smoothly.

Another thing definitely contributing is talking to a new person, Lisa, over the weekend. Add her to your scorecards, because I have a feeling that even if nothing romantic develops, she and I could be great friends. She's very attractive -- that classic dark, straight hair, dark eyes, high cheeks look that I love -- and smart, and funny. She does caution me that she doesn't exactly have cute ankles. "Long skirts and pants," she warned me.

We'll see.

Oh, and she's also rather tall. 5'9" and doesn't mind wearing heels. I love tall women who choose to BE tall. It's great. No bending down to kiss them!

Anyway, tomorrow morning I'm going up to see Dave and see what kind of Saab he has up there to replace mine. Filed my claim with Allstate, online (yay), and am waiting for them to call me and set up a time for the adjuster to come out and total it. Nice thing is, because I hit a deer, it's not a "fault" accident and won't affect my rates. Hopefully they'll give me a bit more for this car than they did for the last one. I hit a guard rail in February with the earlier Saab, totaling it, and they gave me $815 for a car with a conservative book value of $1700.

So, a day makes a difference. Better living through chemicals. I believe it.


previous - next