People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

A weekend of nothing


October 16, 2006 - 1:51 p.m.

Yeah, yeah, I haven't written in days. Well, I haven't done much of anything in days, so this is right along there with it. Suzanne was down here this weekend, and we focused on doing as little as possible.

We did, however, finally meet up with Mary and the guy she's going to marry next month. That's right, I hadn't mentioned Mary in a very long time, but she and the guy she met a couple of summers ago on Match.com are getting married next month. It should be quite spectacular. We met up in Frederick and had dinner and talked a lot. She looks quite considerably different... when we got there, I had to ask her, "where's the rest of you?" Apparently, she's been rather athletic lately.

Suzanne and I told them that we want to get them tickets to see Avenue Q on Broadway, since they'll be seeing at least one other show on their Connecticut honeymoon, but of course that's not the sort of thing you can just surprise someone with... you sort of have to know when they'll be able to go, right? We'll figure it out.

The rest of the weekend, Suzanne and I lounged around, talked to the cats, and watched televised sports. Nice, low-key sort of stuff that I regard as sort of an important test point in any relationship: if you're with someone who has to be doingdoingdoing stuff all the time, such days would drive them nuts and they would drive you nuts as a result. This worked just fine.

This week is going to involve much of the same: paying bills, watching televised sports, and waiting for the weekend to come around. I'm up there this weekend, since Suzanne is guest-ministering at some church she goes to. This should be interesting. I don't have to videotape this one.

This other woman keeps showing up in my dreams, and I am not sure why. It's so realistic that I keep thinking (in the dream) that I must know this woman in real life, but I can't figure out how.


previous - next