People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Real estate crap


July 20, 2006 - 3:56 p.m.

Jeez, I hate stupid stuff like this.

I went out this morning to discover that my young neighbors have yet again had their contractors cross my land and leave big-ass ruts in the pasture to get equipment into their yard -- rather than run it across THEIR driveway and lawn and leave big ruts. They have an easement that's sort of questionable, and when they first moved in, Nancy and I told them pretty clearly, if you're going to have people on our land, you had better tell us when and who. They've never done that, nor have they ever fulfilled their obligation to help maintain the right-of-way out to the state highway, which is a sort of driveway thing and a gate through the fence. I (not they) plow it in the winter. I (not they) mow it in the summer. I (not they) replaced the gatepost when it was eroding away. I (not they) make sure the gate works.

So now I (not they) are calling an attorney to get the easement terminated. Minnie, the previous owner of my house and their lot, granted the easement to herself literally the day before our closing in 1996, meaning there was no way it could have showed up on a title search and nobody mentioned anything about it at closing. More to the point, there's a serious question about whether it was even legally possible for Minnie to have granted the easement to herself! Since she owned both parcels at the time, she already had all the rights she needed to do anything she wanted on both lots, so there's some question about where the easement was even in force.

In any case, now I have more big ruts in my bottom pasture which will jar my back every time I cross them on a tractor. I can still feel the ruts their contractors' trucks and equipment left when they built that place in 1999.

And if all else fails, since there's nothing to prevent me from planting trees on my own land, I think it's time to put in a row of closely-spaced blue spruce. If they wanna cut across my place after that, they can pay me to dig up the trees.

And a big-ass chain is going on that gate tonight, so I hope their contractors have all their shit out of there by the time I get home, because they're not going through that gate again.

Young people are incredibly inconsiderate. Where do they get the money for a house?


previous - next