People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

The weekend of sun


July 17, 2006 - 4:34 p.m.

Another good weekend in the books, though I have a nagging stiff neck that showed up Friday night because the air conditioning in Suzanne's apartment was rather fierce and I slept in a weird position.

No, not that kind of weird.

We went to the shore on Saturday and went riding on the boardwalks that stretch from Bradley Beach to Belmar, had a cocktail and The World's Largest Mutant Giant Shrimp at a small Italian place facing the water, and got moderately sunburned. Dinner Saturday night was at a small but amazing place called Brennen's in Neptune, New Jersey. I recommend it highly, though you may not want to eat lunch before you go. The steaks are rather sizable... Suzanne didn't finish hers.

So, here it is, Monday, and among other things, I'm supposed to go test-drive that Volkswagen I'm going to buy (and no, some other fuck isn't gonna out-gun me, I have my financial shit in order and can lay hands on many, many dollars), and then I'll probably go home and see if the tractor place delivered my newly-repaired Husqvarna back to the house. Not that I'm gonna be out there mowing tonight, being as it was almost 100 degrees today and not likely to get much cooler before dark, but maybe I can mow a little tomorrow morning before getting in my bid on the VW.

I noted that gas went up another six or seven cents here in my absence this weekend. Every nickel a gallon it goes up represents another fifty bucks a year I'll save having a diesel instead of a gas car.

Only problem then will be getting any kind of decent money for my gas Passat. It's in quite good shape, but there are quite a few Passats out there of its vintage. Not many wagons, but I still doubt I'll get all that much for it. Damn me and overpaying for it last fall when I was in a pinch! Fark it.


previous - next