People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

No job interview


September 24, 2005 - 1:46 a.m.

Yesterday, the new site had 179,000 hits. This is insanity. But the little server downstairs, powered by Lotus Domino 7, is handling the load in magnificent form. On a normal day it gets about 5,000 hits, and over the last two days it's gotten more than a quarter-million.

It'll be fine.

Tonight's social engagement was more than fine. We'll call her Lissa, and it was one of the best dates I've had in a very long time. At least, once I found somewhere to park. Remind me to never, ever meet someone at Fairfax Commons on a Friday night. There was literally nowhere to park... after about ten minutes of driving around, I finally found a spot way the hell the other side of the whole shopping/dining center, and then walked all the way back, which was another five minutes.

It was worth it, though. Lissa is just even cuter in person than in her picture, but it's a mature sort of cute, a warm, nice sort of cute. Among other things, I found that she sings, has done theatre, has a cat she really, really likes and recently lost a cat she really, really misses, and likes snow. This is moderately amazing for a woman born overseas (her father was a diplomat) who has lived most of her life in Virginia and California.

We talked and talked and talked, had a nice dinner, talked some more, walked around and talked yet more, and everything just flowed wonderfully. No pressure, no self-consciousness, no sense at all that this was either an audition or a job interview.

Two possible problems (yes, this is pragmatism bursting through): she has two children between 10 and 13, and she lives in a nearly-inaccessible-to-me area of Fairfax. However, she shares custody with a local ex, and she drives.

I like it when I feel like someone likes me. I do have to identify her perfume, though... I like it.


previous - next