People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Getting wet about Apple


August 21, 2005 - 12:17 a.m.

Apple is just amazing. I have no idea how they make any money, their support is just amazing. I woke up this morning when I got a call from DHL. They wanted to know how to get to my house, because they were bringing me my iPod.

On a Saturday.

Under warranty.

Sure enough, a nice old guy from DHL knocked on my door a couple of hours later and handed me a package from Apple. In it was a brand-new 40Gb iPod. Apparently they decided to replace it rather than repair the click wheel and send it back. It was so pristine and perfect I almost didn't dare touch it, and in fact went out this afternoon to get it a protective cover to keep it that way.

I am just astonished with the lengths Apple goes to to support their gear. Every other manufacturer in the world blows donkey asses by comparison. Apple needs to buy Sony, fire all their product support people, and repackage all of Sony's cool technology with the Apple name on it. Sony has great stuff but shitty support. Apple has great stuff and great support.

Some things do get better over time.

Anyway, I was out today getting the iPod case, as well as a bigger Memory Stick Pro Duo for the PSP, and a memory-card reader that can read it, as my older card reader doesn't know what to do with the newer Memory Sticks. I also made a stop over at Lowe's, to pick up the materials to build an even better, bigger sifter for cat litter. The one Nancy and I built six or seven years ago has finally given out. Fortunately, the raw materials are cheap (under $15), and it's just a matter of taking time to rivet screening into place. As usual with things like this, I couldn't find my pop-rivet gun when I needed it, so I ended up buying another one. I predict I will find my old one on Wednesday while looking for something else.

That doesn't work with everything. I never did find my old Sony Clie N760C, a pretty little PDA that I think might have gone to the scrap heap, accidentally left in the back of the Saab that was destroyed two years ago when I hit the deer. I still have a pile of accessories for it, but wish I could find the unit itself. It was actually a pretty capable MP3 player.

At the place I went to lunch, there was a woman who reminded me a lot of Fawn, except with a much more substantial chest. She was wearing a floral sheath dress that looked like it had been painted on, or shrunk in place, without looking slutty. Just... a good fit.

Fawn herself sounds happy. She is enormously pleased with the surgery she underwent the other day, which allows her to walk without pain for the first time in a year. She's currently occupying her mother's couch and, as she says, reading Le Monde and realizing she doesn't understand it as well as she'd like.

I'm just too used to reading news in English. When the French have important enough news, it gets written up in English anyway, and, well... I've gotten lazy in my old age.

I can hear the rumble of thunder out there to the west. It was hot today, and it'll be flashy tonight. One day, I will figure out why so many women think thunderstorms are so sexy. Not that I don't... it's just not something you hear guys volunteer. But some women, I guess, get wet when it gets... wet.


previous - next