People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Mystery injuries


February 05, 2004 - 3:47 p.m.

How do you sprain your thumb and not know how or when you did it?

I have had a painful right thumb for a couple of days... it got worse today. But I have no idea how I sprained it. It just... IS. I mean, there have been nights I've gotten unbelievably drunk or been terrifically tired, but if I injured myself during the episode, I still knew I'd done it and how.

This... is a mystery. I'll have to figure it out or forget it.

Penny and I are taking a formal dance class this month. Last night was the first class, and you know, for as much as she always says "she likes to dance," she has minimal rhythm and motion-sense. I've run into this before... women who go out dancing to rock'n'roll but who aren't "dancers" in the more formal sense. It's weird for me to feel more in control of the rhythm and the music than someone who clearly dances more than I ever did.

Thing is, I've been in theatre over the years a lot, and did marching band for years and years before that. You get used to knowing where you are and moving to music in formation with others. Sure, there isn't a lot that's obviously in common between Drumline and Strictly Ballroom, but they're not as divorced from each other as you might think.

So, the first class went OK. We'll see how the rest of the month goes. It's one night a week. At the end of the month, we're going to my old editor's wedding in Las Vegas and we can show off whatever skills we've built up.

My thumb hurts.


previous - next