People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Minor pains in the ass


June 25, 2003 - 1:01 p.m.

Well, if it's not one thing, it's another. Got up early today and took the Saab over to the Citgo in Brunswick to get it inspected, so that I can get it its permanent plates. They failed it, saying the front rotors are too thin and the pads are worn, and one tire was below spec. No big deal, I have pads on the shelf in the garage, new rotors are cheap and available, I can do them in my sleep. I told them I'd be bringing the thing back Friday morning, and they would reinspect those things and also replace a torn CV boot on the right front.

I then went to Sears to have all new tires put on. The guys at Sears called me over and pointed out a cross-threaded wheel bolt... on the right front. The last guy to touch that bolt had been the Citgo guy, and Sears said they wanted to point it out in case, during removal, it broke. Which it did.

So, Citgo Guys and I will have a talk. I already called Dave, and getting a good used hub will be no problem if the threads can't be saved, it's just another pain in the ass to deal with. Sears did get the car in and out in near-record time. They're getting much better about that. The Sears near work used to be kings of the phrase, "can you leave it?"

I had a good evening last night. Debra came up and we went out and had dinner and played trivia at the place I go after work. We took 3rd place, which was good for a $10 gift certificate. It was fun to be with her, and we kissed a little in the parking lot afterward before she went home. She still looks and feels great, and I do like being with her. As I said, we've both sort of backed off. She opened herself up to the idea of "just dating," and I'm not pushing for anything more than casual dating. That means, for example, we probably won't be fooling around anytime soon.

Penny is coming back up from Florida tonight. I talked to her for a while last night, and IMed her briefly this morning. She's happy with the conference, but misses me and wants to come back. I will probably see her tomorrow night... I may take my tools up and do the brake rotors and pads at her house, if I don't do them late tonight, which I might. They're simple.

Right now I'm at work, waiting for our new IBM sales rep to show up so we can pummel him. I thought he was going to be here at 1:00, but here it is, ten after 1 and no word from him at all. If he's not here by 1:45, I have to go to another building and practice for a nationwide closed-circuit broadcast I'm doing next week to promote (and explain) the new software I built and released. Bigtime TV awaits. Sorta.


previous - next