People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Cyrano on GSM


June 13, 2003 - 12:56 p.m.

Yesterday was interesting. The Saab wasn't ready yet, so I ended up going out to look for an apple martini. Found one, and had something to eat and a couple of cigars, and got an email from Heather saying she might be out and about tonight. Hung out a while longer than I might have otherwise on the off chance she might stop by where I was to have a beer, but eventually took off. I did stop by the place she usually hangs out, but she wasn't over there, so I sent her an email on the phone to say hi, and eventually went over and we talked a little while.

To say we "talked" really means that I was outside wandering around a little, talking to her on the cell phone, because she had already gone off to get ready for bed and didn't feel like coming down to talk. She's dating this guy, we'll call him "Chuck" because that's his name, and she seems happy to be with him, but when I mentioned Penny and how well things are going with her, you could pretty much hear Heather clam up and get rather cold, and then she said she wanted to go to sleep and/or call Chuck and would I please get off the phone?

That worries me a little. I mean, yes, maybe it's a lot to ask, but I can be genuinely happy for her that she's with someone she likes, but maybe she can't quite work that idea for me. I don't want to say she still has some feelings left over for me, but her reactions anytime I mention anyone else these days puzzle me. I'm not going to worry about it. I'll just continue to be happy for her, and talk to her once in a while. It really can be good to talk to her. I can't explain it, is just... is.

Today, I no longer feel like I have a hairball. Maybe the martinis and cigars dislodged something, but all I have today is some leftover phlegm and a pain in my rib cage from coughing the last couple of days.

In a while, I'm going to Abbottstown to pick up the new Saab -- Dave said they ended up putting another air conditioning compressor in it and leak-testing it, and it's now fine. So, I have a near-perfect Saab waiting for me when I go up and get it.

Penny closed on her new house this morning, and if I can, I'll help her move for a while, then go home and see what kind of mess the cats have made in the kitchen. And admire the new floor surface. Today is the first day it's supposed to be hard enough to walk on. $1864 later. Between that and buying the Saab and paying off some credit cards I've run up recently, the checking account is getting emptier by the minute.


previous - next