People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Yet another reason


January 10, 2008 - 4:08 p.m.

And if that isn't enough, now I'm getting nickel-and-dimed on the one thing I ask for every year: conference participation at one damn conference. Turns out I have to change my travel plans and instead of driving down Friday night as I always do, I am grudgingly flying down on Sunday late evening and flying back Friday.

I included a request for a rental car. Eighty-one bucks.

"What do you need this for?"

Because I have to get there so late and leave so early to accommodate goddamn government air contract travel schedules that the airport shuttles no longer run.

Now, let me think about this:


  • I found a flight that was actually a hundred bucks cheaper than government rate and booked it.
  • I don't have to pay and tip the airport shuttle to the airport and back.
  • I am staying one less day at the conference, and not occupying a $200-a-night room.
  • I am not staying over one night on the way down and one on the way back.
  • I am traveling a total of three fewer days, on which per diem doesn't have to be paid.

I didn't have to do any of this. All told it'll save about $700. And I'm getting hassled about a shitty $81 rental car so that if I need something when I'm onsite I can get it, and so that I don't have to miss flights or events by having to stand around waiting for an airport shuttle.

Eat me. Thanks for providing me yet another reason not to give a shit.


previous - next