People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

A long weekend


November 13, 2006 - 5:24 p.m.

Well, I don't usually go this long without posting something, so I guess I should get around to it.

First off, Mary and Joe are indeed married! Their wedding and the celebration afterward were low-key and elegant, and I got to see a whole bunch of people I hadn't seen in quite a while (and then try to remember their names). Suzanne and I stayed late and had a generally good time. I took somewhere around 300 photographs, and, typical of me, was able to burn them a DVD of the images right there after the reception. We also gave them their Avenue Q tickets, in an envelope bearing the warning, GRAPHIC PUPPET SEX ENCLOSED!

Suzanne and I went home and fooled around, though it was really crazy trying to keep track of the time. Next thing I knew, it was 6:25am.

Sometime Saturday the cable had gone off for a while... some mystery problem which the cable guy couldn't immediately locate by driving up and down the road. It was back on by Sunday, but we went out and watched football all afternoon (the Ravens won an absurd game in Tennessee) and during the evening got rather grumpy at each other. Eventually Suzanne left and came home on her own, and I followed a little later. By this time it was raining hard, and on the last turn to get onto 340 to go home, I magically spun the TDI in a complete circle onto the shoulder. I didn't impact anything, though I got it muddy and learned later that I lost the right-rear wheel cover. I know where it should be, so I'll go back and get it and in the future, not ask the diesel to handle like the gas car.

So, here we are on Monday now, and I haven't had all that much to eat today. Time to go out and find something inexpensive and see what happens. Money is still in short supply until Friday, and then we go to Kansas City. Argh.


previous - next