People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Wabbits and deer


October 02, 2006 - 1:58 a.m.

I can't easily explain how comfortable it feels when she's asleep (and snoring) in my armpit. I think that's probably the whole word, the watchword of what Suzanne is like.

Comfortable.

Sometimes spectacular.

Often, impossibly sexy.

Around her, I am better. Not in huge ways, like, I want rid the world of stupidity or anything like that (though I probably would like that a great deal, and so would you) but in small ways. Saturday evening we were leading a convoy of vehicles taking her old television -- a Panasonic monster 2002-vintage HD rear-projection set which will never fit in my house -- over to some friends of hers who live in graduate-student housing in Princeton. Along the way, along Alexander Street just south of Princeton, there was a traffic commotion, and we came upon a yearling doe who had run out into traffic, slipped on the pavement and bonked her head. She tried to get up, slipped again (since hooves on wet asphalt really don't grab) and bonked her head several more times.

I stopped the Passat and got out, and the doe practically fell in my lap. I sat down next to her, and as she foamed and panted, said, "look, quit freaking out, OK? If you just stand up and walk normally, you'll be fine, but if you run, you will slip and you will fall again."

I petted her flanks and her leg, saw that she didn't have any real injuries, and then moved around her to try to pick her up. She stumbled to her feet, ran awkwardly, fell once more, then stood up, calmed down, and walked across the road into some woods.

Traffic resumed.

I didn't think anything of it. I, who has lost two Saabs to stupid deer in the last three years, helped one not be another traffic statistic, but I didn't think anything of it. We dropped off the television and went home, and then (finally) our weekend together started... free of deliveries, tire problems, and interactions with deer.

And she was fine with that, though she was impressed that I could talk to the doe and calm her down. I didn't think there was anything else to do, except talk sense to the deer and be reassuring. I guess I was right.

It's now 2 in the morning, and I am watching her rabbits eat carrots across the room from me. They are mmostly ignoring me, since I don't taste like either carrots or yogurt-flavored snacks. Still, they are reasonably friendly.

Cats can be like that, too.

You realize that she and I are getting married, right? We just haven't announced it yet.

Hey! You wabbit! Quit eating the iBook's power cord! You wabbit!!!!


previous - next