People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Sucking hugely


December 15, 2005 - 4:53 p.m.

Who the hell is reading all the stuff here? Yesterday, I got something around 450 page views from only a couple of dozen visitors, so somebody obviously chewed their way through the whole damn site. A couple of somebodies, more likely.

It's time to cue the Vanilla Ice, now... it's icing out there.

"Yo, Vanillaaaaaaaaa... kick it one time, boyeeeeeee!"

I could hear the snow change over to freezing rain or sleet at the house earlier today. Snow doesn't clack against the screen on the bedroom window (usually). I went downstairs and the cats were in a tizzy, because they're slurped the three-gallon dispenser dry, as they sometimes do. I filled that back up, then went out and saw cat-toes in the snow, so I know Margaret, and not Mr. Possum, ate the food I left out. There were no signs of possum-toes.

For that matter, there were cat-toes on and under the car, leading across the driveway, the barnyard and off into the yard. Where she wanders to, I'm not sure.

Louisa and I are supposed to get together tomorrow after work and go to The Melting Pot in Reston. She's an incredible wimp when it comes to driving, even more so than most people in that area. Hates driving in snow or ice, because she learned to drive on an island where neither occurs naturally, and hates driving on interstate highways. How she intends to make it to Virginia Beach this weekend without taking 95, I am unsure. In any case, she still hasn't sent me her address, so I have no idea where to go pick her up. Hopefully she'll remember to do so, and if all else fails, I can now call her at home. She remembered to send a non-work phone number.

I am beginning to bet myself that Miranda will call sometime just before Christmas and cancel on our New Year's date. Of course, this will leave me with absolutely no alternative, since Louisa will be out of town with her brother and sister-in-law, and everyone else is occupied. True, Miranda promised she wouldn't do this, but then again, she also promised she wouldn't jump to assumptions or send me a "best of luck" email, and she's already done both of those things previously, then recanted them. In this case, though, turtle instinct just tells me she's likely to do this. However, it's not like I can line up a Plan B "just in case," I mean, what woman wants to be someone's fallback plan? I can't imagine one and wouldn't put someone in that position. So, Miranda will email me, tell me she doesn't think it's a good idea, I'll be left to fend for myself and she will vanish into the haze for good.

I can see this coming. No, I won't be doing anything to make it self-fulfilling. I believe in letting people stand or fall on their own actions, not on my assumptions about what their actions will be.

Still, when it happens, it will suck hugely.

I am exhausted today. I am in a really bad cycle where I'm tired, so I don't do anything, which makes me even more tired, so I do less. I need to break out of it, so I will try to get on the CardioGlide tonight when I get home and force my body to do stuff.

A friend of mine got an unexpected end-of-year bonus at work. She could really use it; I'm happy. If she got out of her weird and corrosive living situation, I'd be even happier.

Speaking of happier, tomorrow is payday, so I can go and pay off yet more junk. I've been a bit too aggressive about paying off things lately, to the point where I run out of cash by Tuesday before payday and then have to use cards again. It's stupid, but I do feel better sending large amounts off to pay for stuff. Once I get rid of those bills, I can start throwing an extra thousand or so dollars a month at my house and pay it off even earlier.


previous - next