People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

She really did call


July 27, 2005 - 3:57 p.m.

Jeez, I appreciate a woman who actually carries through with a promise she made. No, this has nothing to do with Sarah, or Melody, or Martha, or anybody else.

After work, I'm meeting a woman from Chicago for a drink. We'd emailed each other briefly over six months ago, and we sort of left it at "well, if either of us ends up in the town of the other, we'll meet up." Now, I've heard a lot of people say that, but of course it ends up being the empty pleasantry it sounds like. Imagine my surprise when, about six weeks ago, I get this email from her, saying she'd be in DC in June for a business meeting, and was I still interested in meeting?

Well, sure I was, if only to actually lay eyes on a woman who actually MEANT it when she said, "I'll call you when I'm in town."

Turned out that that meeting was canceled, but this week, she's in town for a conference and we're meeting up for a martini after work. As usual, I expect nothing, but hey, I wasn't planning on doing anything tonight except not being out in the 97-degree heat. So... instead, I end up being out in the 97-degree heat, but I get to meet a cute, smart woman with a nice voice.

I am pleased about this in a small way.

Sarah is back from vacation. She's going to help me pick up the newly-rebuilt Saab on Friday, and then we may go to the tractor show. I'm not showing the little Cub this year, though I probably should have. I do want to sell it, I just can't get everything done to the truck and the tractor in time to take it over there and stick a "FOR SALE" on it.

I'm also expecting nothing necessarily to come from seeing Sarah. I'll figure it out as I go along.


previous - next