People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Grumpy for no damn reason


June 22, 2005 - 2:56 p.m.

I am feeling grumpy right now for no real reason. Well, there's some reason, but it was just a trigger. Grumpiness is largely unrelated to this event.

The event was, getting one of those, "I just don't think we're a match" emails from someone I really was sort of ambivalent about anyway. I guess I couldn't give much of a shit if she wants to hide out in Rockville and live a little bug life, but the thing is, after you trade enough emails with someone, it's almost rude not to meet them as a courtesy or something. I've done this several times, and know that there've been times someone's done it with me. But when someone tells you they can't even be bothered to give it a whirl, I get kind of annoyed.

For the record, it's almost always never-married women who do this. Based on nearly no information, they basically talk themselves out of meeting anyone at all, because "well, there's a chance it might not work out," or "they don't want to waste time with someone who's not The One." Well, fuck... how do you know if you don't try it out?

(see also, "never married")

I have come to the realization over the last several years that if a woman gets to her 40s with a stated wish to "eventually" be married, but without actually having been married, there's usually a reason. Call it "selective," call it "picky," call it whatever, but let me tell you, there are no extra points awarded at the end of life for having such high standards that no one on earth can meet them.

I am learning to avoid such people. Divorced women are much more sensible, and if they're not, you can usually spot the crazy ones at at least 200 yards.

I am trying to figure out why the Saab-o-Matic is getting such shitty mileage. My 5-speed-equipped Saabs generally get 26 to 28 miles per gallon, meaning a 17-gallon tank is good for over 450 miles before I need to start looking to fill up. This thing, with the automatic in it, is barely getting 16. It's not running badly, it's not running too rich... it just gets crappy mileage. On the highway, it cruises at 3700rpm at 75mph, whereas my 5-speed Saabs would be doing over 90 at that engine speed. All I can think is that the damn automatic is slipping or wasting something in there. Argh. For all I know, the previous owner put the wrong fluid in.

Yeah, I know, "when's he gonna get back to the SEX?"

Soon, I hope.


previous - next