People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Snow and notes for the next life


December 06, 2003 - 11:55 p.m.

Sat here and watched Kansas State kick the living shit out of the vaunted Oklahoma. I normally could not possibly care less about either team, being a fan of the Big Ten and anyone who beats Notre Dame, but in this case, I've gotten really fed up with listening to sportswriters beatify Oklahoma, and there's a certain smug satisfaction about them getting beaten.

In my next life, remind me to put "snowblower" a bit higher in priority on the list of gadgets I need to acquire. Next life, I'll put it a bit higher than "wireless networking" or "generator." I am sitting comfortably in my living room, not herniated and sore from having to shovel out the paved driveway after the year's first snow. There was about five inches out there, and the snowblower cut through it and I was having a great time. It was the last one in Baltimore, and I got it. I was impressed and pleased. It's right up there with my Hoover FloorMate floor cleaner as far as being a device that does what it does perfectly.

It had to happen: I've been dressing Penny up (or trying to) since we met, and today she turned it around on me. As an early Christmas gift, she got me an Oscar de la Renta blue suit. Kinda had to do it now, because it needs alteration before we go out for New Year's. She even got shoes. Women never get me shoes. For all the shoes I've given women over the years, no one ever got me any. I spent last night up there with her, watching the snow come down. We were going to go out and hear a band I like but after driving over there in the new Saab (which has a new starter courtesy an hour's work in freezing rain on Friday night) we found out they had canceled. We went back to her house, had martinis, went up and fooled around a while, then fell asleep.


previous - next