People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Something I noticed tonight


October 23, 2005 - 1:34 a.m.

I'd almost forgotten how good it feels to meet someone new and not feel interrogated, put down, put upon, or scrutinized. I met someone new this evening who has a very nice way about her, an ease and a fun that I'd thought was vanished. I guess I've been on too many first dates that felt a little sterile. Those dates where, on my way home, I know that I'll wake up tomorrow to the old "best of luck in your search" emails.

It's nice to come away from a date where I didn't have that feeling. A good, relaxing-but-exciting evening with someone with few preconceived notions and who doesn't trigger any in me.

I did notice something tonight: if I think back, I mean, like, three years, all of my best relationships have been with women who, on our first date, chose to doll themselves up a little. I can think of only one exception, and that was Sarah. She was sick and I was deaf, so I didn't mind.

Way to get my attention on a first date: wear a skirt. Yeah, I know, it sounds shallow, but everybody has to like something. I have to say, Penny and Melody were the most memorable of them. Long gone now, though.

Forward.


previous - next