People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

OK, time to move on to the next stage


June 02, 2008 - 10:08 p.m.

This weekend, I will have been writing here for five years. I've been writing online for nearly eleven years, and writing (in some form or another) for thirty-five years.

I have a sense that DL is starting to die out. Probably, it's time to join the exodus. Media comes and media goes, and this one seems to be going. I have another week before my Gold membership comes up for renewal, and I suspect this time I may just let it go and move my writing elsewhere.

It actually already exists there, all that's missing is a definable link between here and there, and I am not certain I want to make one. Sometimes it's better to leave one chunk of your life online behind and leave it for the web.historians, and just start again somewhere else.

I do remember what I liked about DL when I first got here five years ago. It was free, didn't have ads, didn't have some bullshit special software or some weird custom interface. Anything you could code in HTML, you could put in this box here and it would take it. But what it never developed was readership, and ultimately, we're here for people to read what we write, even if they're total strangers. Hundreds of total strangers read my other online writings every week, so it's not like I need the affirmation or anything.

Honestly, when I started writing here, it was specifically so I could go into open and titillating detail about the dating was doing after my divorce. Here it is, now, five years later, a couple hundred dates later, several major relationships later, and I am now married and I don't plan on writing the really titillating details about that, because I have somebody I can just talk to about them. Sure, she writes online, too, but really, we're each other's audience now.

I guess I accomplished what I set out to write here. It's all done been writ.

I won't say I won't be back, but if you tuned in to read all about my dating life, I guess there's no sense in you being disappointed. If you wanna move with me to the next stage of my life, send me an email and I'll send you links to where I write my daily life now. It's still interesting, just in a very different way.

I think.


previous - next