People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Dreams and stuff


March 12, 2008 - 10:32 p.m.

Have you noticed what a pod I've been lately? Not writing, writing about bullshit, writing... elsewhere.

I ordered a DVD and a CD on Amazon tonight. They won't show up for a couple of months because the DVD part of the pair isn't due to be released until May 20th. The 2006 Broadway revival of Company. It was on PBS' Great Performances last month and I was just blown away by it. Just amazing. So, I bought it for myself.

I guess I can wait a couple of months for it to show up.

Other things will be showing up this week, including a massively-larger hard drive for the MacBook Pro. Yes, I've used up one hundred gigabytes' worth of space on the factory drive and ordered a 320GB drive to replace it. Drive upgrades on Apples are gorgeously simple. I also ordered an ExpressCard/34 FireWire adapter, since I'm pretty sure the FireWire on the motherboard is torched.

I was home sick today. And of course, when I emailed in to say I wouldn't be there, I get a nice snotty note back from the guy who thinks we work for him. Administrative BS. I ignored it. Be a pain in my ass enough, and you can find somebody to replace me when I walk out of there. I'd prefer not to have to for another five years, though... then I'd actually qualify for partial retirement. What an incredible concept. Yep. They offer early retirement if you have at least 20 years in, and in a little over five years, I'll have been there 20 years. 20 fuckin' years. Argh. But at least I won't walk out with nothing. Thing is, I've outlasted plenty of people I didn't see eye-to-eye with, and outlast some more.

I had some really strange dreams last night. Lots of women in them, women from the long-distant past, but of course, as they appeared back then, not as they'd look now.


previous - next