People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Just a broken leg


December 17, 2007 - 8:34 p.m.

He broke his leg.

That's all.

We don't know how... maybe hopped up on top of the big enclosure in the rabbit room, maybe somehow got it caught between something and struggled to get free.

But Ben broke his leg. And twelve hours later, he's dead.

He was six months and eight days old.

We took him to a vet that handles rabbits, but he required a complex procedure to pin the bones in his broken right rear leg (the strong one). He went through the procedure, and was coming out of anesthesia OK. Then... he turned. Coughed up some fluids, went unresponsive for a while, recovered enough that they put him back in his recovery hutch, and then the big wabbit just stopped breathing. They got a heartbeat for a minute or so, and then he was gone.

I never thought I'd get to where I care about wabbits as much as about cats. I was wrong, as usual.

He was huge and friendly. He wanted to taste everything. He liked hopping around and showing off his speed. He liked craisins and apple and Romaine lettuce and carrots.

He had enormous floppy ears, big furry banana leaves that flapped around on his head when he bobbed it up and down, looking around at anything interesting (which was everything).

Suzanne is over there, looking at pictures from when he was tiny and barely a month old. I can't believe he got so big so fast.

I can't believe he was gone even faster.


previous - next