People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Math genius steals my lunch


December 11, 2007 - 1:00 p.m.

Well, the world will implode soon. Since nobody can add any more, it's gotten to where the people running the machines to do the adding for them don't trust humans who can add.

I ended up finding a lunch other than a Wendy's double-with-cheese combo. I pulled up to the drive-thru, real simple order... a #2 combo regular, Coke Zero, no ice.

"$6.49. Please drive around."**

I scratched my head, since the combo was clearly marked $5.49, and since Maryland's sales tax is five percent, the combo should have been maybe $5.76, right? I figured they'd straighten it out at the window. I pulled up.

"6.49."

"Ummm, no, that should be more like $5.76. $5.49 plus 27 cents' tax, right?"

"Uh, it says here $6.49. Combo's $6.18."

I was immediately suspicious, since $6.18 is a really weird number for your typical ends-in-nine marketing mindset to spit out.

"On the board, it's $5.49."

"Uhhh... I have to get a manager."

Scruit. I had wasted enough time. I pulled away and went and got something else, and Credulous Math Genius got to call his manager anyway for a void.

Sure, it's only a dollar or so, but it's my dollar and I kinda like for things to be right.


previous - next