People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Cat drugs and unpopular interface tricks


November 21, 2007 - 2:54 p.m.

One of the cats is back from the vet. Suzanne's cat that she got back from her old boyfriend has come down with both some upper-respiratory crap as well as thyroid disease, so he gets to have some nice, expensive medication for the rest of his life unless we want to do a radioactive-iodine treatment. Simba seems like a cooperative sort of moose, so I hope giving him his pills won't be a big hassle. And little does he know, he's going to have to travel with us from now on so he can get his Tapazole.

Fortunately, I've already found generics on the net for about $14 a bottle less than the price the vet charges for a bottle of 100.

Someone pooped on the bathmat in the bathroom. It and the cat bed in there went into the laundry (by itself) with a lot of detergent, on the long/heavy/large cycle. My lint screen is going to look like fudge when I get home, I assume.

Those cats.

In other news, the code I worked most on for a new release of software at work is already making a name for itself as the most despised new feature we've ever added to the system. In fact, within an hour on Monday, I wrote a way for users to disable it permanently. For the record, I didn't wanna add that feature in the first place (a sort of GeoCities-like locked toolbar that stays in place as you scroll down the page) but it was a big favorite of an upper-management type. So, I wrote it, we launched it, the users hate it, and I just sorta laughed.

Today we actually got a compliment from a user thanking us for so quickly writing a way to turn the damn thing off. At least they realize we care, which is more than can be said about some development efforts around this place. I do care. I figure I work for thousands of end users, not for the management here. I try to convey that every time I talk to them. Both the users and the managers.

I am a very atypical federal worker.


previous - next