People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

A show for you to see


August 17, 2007 - 12:31 a.m.

Have you watched Mad Men yet? It's on AMC, the former old-movie network that has now branched out into original series.

Why do I watch it?

Two things: one, it's very evocative about 1960 New York, a time and area into which I was born.

Two, the women are gorgeous. Knockouts in a classical sort of way, a Marilyn Monroe sort of way, all makeup and skirts and heels and nylons with garters (I know this because the writeup about the show says the producers insisted that everyone be in period costume, so no pantyhose, nyah!) and attitude.

It's adorable. The plot is a little quirky, and the characters are a little thin so far, but that's what you're stuck with when you have to do an hour-long show and allow for commercials.

What sorta sucks about AMC is that they really did used to be "American Movie Classics." You know, stuff from the 1930s and 1940s. Lately, though, their selection of "classics" is somewhat suspect. I knew they hit bottom when "Friday the 13th Part 4" was somehow an "American movie classic."

Well, that, and they have commercials.

If you're serious about old movies, you must check out Turner Classic. But you should really see Mad Men. It's a beautiful time capsule and a well-done production all around. Special bonus for having Robert Morse in a recurring role... he was in the original Broadway and film productions of How to Succeed In Business (Without Really Trying) and oddly, he fits well as the quirky senior partner in this show. You'd barely recognize him if all you've ever seen him in is How To Succeed.

And most of the cast has more Broadway and off-Broadway creds than Hollywood, though they have plenty of those.

I like it.

It just makes me smoke too much.

I am far too impressionable.


previous - next