People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Good to be me


July 02, 2007 - 2:23 p.m.

There are times it really blows ass to be me, but there are other times when being me can be really cool. The other night Suzanne and I went out to dinner at a place in Frederick, partly because we hadn't been out anywhere in weeks that didn't have a drive-thru, and partly to check this place out as a possible location for a wedding reception. There's something very pleasant about being out in a nice car, on a nice evening, listening to 1950s jazz with a little slip of a girl in a little slip of a dress and heels (and, as I later discovered, nothing else), on the way home from a very nice dinner at a very nice place.

Those are the times it really rocks to be me.

We ran around all weekend collecting up various things that will make more work for ourselves... ordered replacement parts for the Husqvarna, which sheared off one of its blades after I hit an ancient dogwood stump with it. Got a new oil filter and more coolant for the TDI. Picked up a lot of paint and paint-related items at Lowe's. Suzanne got some sort of new magical special food for the wabbits.

All in all, a good weekend, though I spent a good portion of Sunday sleeping rather than blasting loose paint off the gutters with the power washer or changing the oil in the TDI. There's always this week for all that. Tractor parts should be in on Tuesday, Wednesday we're doing nothing in particular, though I may go down and run the Segway in some midday parades over the river in Virginia. That should be amusing.

Last night we finally hauled the mountain of laundry down to the basement so that I can chip away at it this week. We now have a floor in the bedroom again.

Those are the times it's not so cool to be me... when the pile of laundry on the bedroom floor is so tall it interferes with the television's remote control.


previous - next