People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Catching up


June 26, 2007 - 4:36 p.m.

It's been remarkably warm the last week, and will get hotter. Unfortunately, this hasn't, at least for us, been accompanied by the usual afternoon and evening thunderstorms, so the air conditioners have been on and cats have been very flat all over the house. You have to step over them on the way to the bathroom or the kitchen. Cats, as you know, melt in the heat and great puddles of catdom are all over the floor in furry blobs.

Last weekend we went up to meet the baby wabbits. Right now, they have big ole heads and small ears and look nothing like the giants they will be in a matter of months. I was again blown away by just how fucking huge their father is... he is a massive, massive wabbit and quite pleasant to talk to. Their mother is a little more skittish and not as large, but she's had a lot of work to do with ten or eleven small wabbits making demands on her.

My sleep is all messed up again... I know it's a depressive episode and while the drugs are taking care of the obvious signs of depression, they don't help with the strange sleep patterns. And no, I am not taking Ambien again. I've been researching some of the weird-ass effects Ambien can produce, and found to my amusement that those effects are magnified in people who are taking SSRIs for depression (like me) and consuming a moderate amount of alcohol (like me). It was a perfect storm of chemical confusion and pretty much explains my worries from last year that I was losing my memory or going into early-onset Alzheimer's or something. The prescription bottle has sat untouched for more than six months and will stay that way.

Does anyone really test anything any more?

Speaking of testing, the orange tractor is damaged... I hit a piece of dogwood the other day from the old stump in the yard, from a tree that was dead when I bought the house over a decade ago, and the bolt for the center blade of the mower deck sheared off. The blade went spinning away from the mower. That's some damn tough wood.

I had sort of an odd dream about Heather last night. I haven't heard from her in some months... probably April, I guess. She was seeing some guy she was pretty happy with, and the fact that I haven't heard from her probably means that things are still going well. If not, I'd probably have gotten one of those all-men-suck, why-do-I-make-bad-choices emails. No word.

I am hoping to enjoy the summer, but there are things which could screw that up. Hopefully they'll stay away.


previous - next