People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Small details are important


June 10, 2007 - 2:01 a.m.

This has been a good day, and a good weekend.

It may sound small, but the highlight of the day was saving a baby chipmunk from Gina, The Fierce Hunter. Gina has gotten into a bad habit of sneaking out of the house when Suzanne opens the door WITHOUT LOOKING DOWN, which I've repeatedly warned her about. Gina then wanders around the yard hunting for... things. Mice. Shrews. Birds.

Today, she was over on the patio with what looked like a large mouse. I chased her away from it and had a look. It was a small chipmunk -- they're rare enough around here, like squirrels -- and he was quivering, but still breathing. I pretty quickly figured out he was OK, no blood, and probably in some sort of rodent shock. All Gina had really done was sort of gum him, and he was breathing hard and moving all his limbs. I asked Suzanne to grab a big plastic tote and we put him in it so he could revive without the chance that Gina might pounce on him again. Within a minute, he'd figured out we weren't going to eat him, and he revived and hopped out of the tote and ran into the hostas at the end of the porch.

One more chipmunk saved from Gina drool.

Later on, Suzanne accidentally let Bert out, and when they're both outside Bert torments Gina terribly, so during dinner we got to listen to not one but two Bert/Gina shitfights.

I am going to teach Suzanne not to let cats outside if it kills me. She doesn't fucking look down at her feet (where cats are) and then seems surprised that they run outside.

And fight each other.

And kill small animals.

She just doesn't fucking pay attention to small details.

She'll pay attention the day Bert gets outside and tries to attack her wabbits when they're out in their pen. I have already told all the involved parties -- Suzanne, the wabbits, and Bert himself -- that if he harms the wabbits, I will kill him. Everyone has been warned. And every time Suzanne doesn't bother to look down at the floor when she goes out the front door, she puts her own wabbits and Gina at risk. She'll be much more attentive to detail after he's lying dead with a broken neck.

Enough ranting. I just don't like feeling like the asshole when I yell at her for letting cats out. She doesn't seem to understand why it's so important. In our house, we are in control. Outside that door, we're not.

Aside of that, a pretty good day. My MDA can now talk to the world over the house's wireless network. The new Yamaha is very happy to be here... we plugged it in the other day and it lit up and sang immediately. The mulberry has fruit on it, the red rose is still blooming, and the jasmine has resprouted leave.


previous - next