People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Incredible size and incredible mileage


May 20, 2007 - 11:55 p.m.

Heh. Today would have been my twelfth anniversary with Nancy, but I've only now remembered that. Today was spent in the Land of Giant Wabbits.

We went up to a small village in Perry County, Pennsylvania to visit a wabbit breeder who breeds Flemish giants.

Emphasis on "giant."

These are fucking huge wabbits. I can't even prepare you for how goddamn big this one wabbit was... his name was Zeus, and his head was half the size of Suzanne's. His ears were like bananas. The breeder picked him up at one point and she was visibly straining. Enormous, pleasant wabbit with just comically large features.

We're getting one of his kids in a couple of months. If he's anywhere near as large as his parents, the baby wabbits will still be gigantic. There was another Flemish there who wasn't even three months old, and larger than any of Suzanne's current wabbits.

This is the sort of wabbit who would not only like to share a beer with you, he could bite the caps off the bottles for you.

The drive up was decent, including a voyage over a mountain I hadn't been over on Route 74 near Carlisle. The diesel is now well over 1000 miles on this tank of fuel, with a couple of gallons left. I already have a new range record for this particular car, 1,057 miles on this tank (my previous record was 1,036) and I may have a shot at breaking the known record for this particular model, the 1996 TDI Passat, which is 1,143 miles. If there are two whole gallons of fuel left in it, I'll end up with somewhere around 1,155 or so. I am carrying a five-gallon jug of diesel for when it runs out just to make sure I drive the thing empty.

I go so long between fillups, I forget what I paid last time. I think this tank cost $2.83 a gallon, but that station is now up to $2.87. Never mind that regular gas around here is now $3.19, and I get almost double the mileage of the old gas car... just that kind of range is astonishing. Factory tank, and I can travel from Manhattan to Orlando on a single tank. $66.

Try that with your car. Problem with hybrids and econocars in general is that they have tiny little fuel tanks. If a Prius had a 24-gallon tank, it'd be amazing, but it doesn't.

Time for me to go upstairs to sleep and not bother remembering my non-anniversaries any more.


previous - next