People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Taxes, fees and dealer prep


May 16, 2007 - 4:02 p.m.

Suzanne and I are getting married a year from tomorrow.

It's strange... when Nancy and I got married twelve years ago (it'll actually be 12 years this Sunday) people asked me, "why so soon?" Now they're asking me, "why are you waiting so long?"

Hhhhh...

No big rush. We've been together almost a year and haven't killed each other, but I don't see a need for any big rush and some good reasons not to. Taxes, for example. Being a married couple without brats, making comparable incomes, you get completely hosed on taxes. My taxes as a single guy are less than half of what I paid when I was married, even figuring that my income and tax rates have gone up in the intervening years. So, the sooner we get married, the sooner we end up paying $30,000 a year in taxes instead of me paying $11,000.

Yeah, it's that big a disparity. You parunts think we don't subsidize you? Heh.

Suzanne has been enjoying the Airport Express audio streaming. I put a couple of links to internet radio stations on her MacBook, and she's been listening to them, particularly the jazz/swing feed at Swiss Radio's RadioCrazy service. If you like this stream, consider sending them a donation and stuff... the stream is very high quality and really diverse. They also have modern jazz, classical and opera streams. Go check them out.

Internet radio in the United States is under severe threat from the idiotic changes coming for royalties imposed by the Copyright Board. Some congresspeople are proposing rolling these insane and ridiculous rates back to reality, so if you have a minute let your reps know you don't want radio controlled by Clear Channel and their ilk. And take a look at the link above and follow the information links toward the bottom.


previous - next