People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Shots in the wind


April 16, 2007 - 6:51 p.m.

Predictably, the second thing out of a White House spokeshumanoid's mouth this morning, after she said how "horrified" Bush is about the scores of killings at Virginia Tech, was how the president "supports the right of Americans to bear arms, but... uh... all laws must be followed."

No judgment from me, just thought I'd pass it along. I was actually surprised he didn't somehow work something about the War On Terror in there.

I'll just hope the shooter doesn't turn out to be Muslim or Arabic. I doubt it. Probably just some psycho Murkin, and you can't really exclude them at the border, because they're already here.

The wind last night threw large potted plants all over the place, including stuff I repotted over the weekend, some weighing 20 or 30 pounds. It was quite spectacular. As usual, the wind was undetectable in the house... I've never seen a wind that caused that house -- which is stone and incredibly heavily-built by modern measures -- to vibrate in the wind, even during the leftovers of Hurricane Isabel back in 2004. That was the Night Of the Tornadoes, the storms which eventually led to me extending the ill-fated offer of shelter to Avery and his dogs. He's back over at his old location in Frederick County, and you can see the awe-inspiring mess from the highway pretty easily. It looks like a trash truck fell from the sky, and makes me think that this is probably what a third-world slum looks like.

I've never known anyone with quite his talent to make a truly incredible mess.


previous - next