People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Rage, rabbits and AppleTV


April 11, 2007 - 4:14 p.m.

Sometimes I wonder about news editors. Today there was a story on the WBAL website about two guys who got killed out on I-270 in a road-rage adventure... they were apparently exchanging birds with some jackass in a pickup truck who then cut them off, causing them to leave the highway and roll, throwing their asses out the window and killing them.

What I thought was odd was that WBAL had a slideshow of pictures taken from a news helicopter, prefaced with "WARNING: Graphic images."

Yeah. I'm always terrified of white sheets. That's all there was.

They had, as cops do, draped the bodies near the car in white plastic sheets, so that's all you could see. As someone who's seen dead people up close in this sort of circumstance, I can say that even bodies themselves aren't all that disturbing once you get juvenile fears of mummies and zombies out of your head and realize that once dead, humans aren't much more off-putting than dead deer. In fact, maybe dead deer makes me sadder, and dead cats definitely so. I'm starting to get that way about rabbits.

Suzanne is starting to get interested in getting a Flemish Giant. Might be nice to have a wabbit that can kick cats' asses.

We went out and picked up an AppleTV the other night. It's a remarkable and elegant little device, as are almost all Apple products. Its real interest to me was the possibility of hacking it to turn it into a very tiny, very real Intel Mac that can run full Mac OS X. Sounds quite plausible, and I've already picked up a 160Gb drive to swap in for the rather anemic 40Gb that it ships with.


previous - next