People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

The further adventures of Mr. Mouse


April 04, 2007 - 11:19 a.m.

So, here's the rundown on the Mouse clan's history so far in the last year:


  1. Mr. Mouse #1 got trapped about a year and a half ago. I had to confirm his existence with a motion-sensitive webcam, and once I realized how he was getting around it was simple to bait a trap with Cheetos and he was gone.
  2. Mr. Mouse #2 got trapped maybe eight months ago. He was running around on the floor of the bedroom, and I put a trap down with a small piece of cookie in it. He was gone.
  3. Mr. Mouse #3 got nabbed by the cross-eyed wonder, the Whale. What makes this all the more interesting is that Whale is declawed. And stupid. Anyway, she hopped up on the bed with Mr. Mouse, and when she wasn't looking I took it away and tossed it outside.
  4. Mr. Mouse #4 got trapped some weeks back. He's gone.
  5. Mr. Mouse #5 was the one I captured in the Cheetos bag, but who managed to sneak out in the living room. The cats played with him till be broke, then they got bored. He's gone.
  6. Mr. Mouse #6 was the guy who bit me as I was carrying him out the other night. He has not been seen (with certainty) since.
  7. Mr. Mouse #7 was the one I found chewed on the other morning in the middle of the living room floor. I tossed his gummed remains out in the bushes. He's gone.
  8. Last night, Mr. Mouse #8 attracted my attention. Somehow, he had managed to fall into the empty plastic trash can in the bedroom, and what sounded like an intermittent PC fan woke me up. I finally figured out that it was His Mouseness in the bottom of the trash can, trying to scramble up the sides. He'd obviously been in there a while, since there were a dozen mouse poops down there with him. He was a small one, compact and gray rather than the pudgy brown setup the recent mice have been. After properly lecturing him and photographing his mouse ass in the bottom of the can, I carried the can outside and deposited him on the stone wall across the street. I had to tweak his tail to get him to run away.

Does anyone other than me think it's sort of idiotic that in a house with a dozen cats, I have to be the one to enforce our no-mouse zone?

What the hell do I pay them for, anyway?


previous - next