People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Scooter pies and oil


March 06, 2007 - 5:06 p.m.

The TDI is well again. Several thousand dollars later, it's all back in one piece, and the shop even gave me a wheel cover to replace one I lost a few months ago. It's quieter and smoother on takeoff, and the mileage appears to be as good. That's nice, because it's still burning the diesel that was in the tank when it locked up on me south of Richmond in January. It's already got 840 miles on the tank and there are at least seven or eight gallons left, so it's going to break 1000 pretty easily.

Among other diesel-burning items, the new oil guys showed up at 8 this morning to tank up the furnace in the house. The tank had completely run out early Monday morning, and so lighting the furnace back up meant there was hot water for showers again.

This was a good thing.

I did have to go down and burp the system a little... there appeared to be an air bubble in the fuel filter housing, so I valved that off and the thing fired up quite nicely after that. That tank of oil has lasted nearly six months, thanks to my not needing to use the furnace for most of the winter and not having it on when I'm not there. I expect that in the next month, until Spring actually shows up fully, that we'll use a good bit of oil just because there are two of us doing laundry and showering, and because Suzanne is home all day and she is not as furry as the cats.

The cats, of course, immediately returned to lounging on the radiator to enjoy the expensive oil heat. Pods.

By the way, I think Lewis "Scooter" Libby should have been convicted just because he has a doofy nickname.

"I'm sorry, Mr. Libby, you'll have to come with us. We have a warrant for your arrest on charges of having a truly ghey nickname. Please place your hands behind your back. Are you carrying any weapons or other stupid names? What's your AOL screen name?"


previous - next