People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Totaled


March 01, 2007 - 2:13 p.m.

Well, fark-and-a-half.

I talked to the adjuster from Allstate finally today... they totaled the red Passat. The fast one. The one I hit the guard rail with going no more than fifteen miles per hour.

Are all modern cars this shittily engineered that they just explode when you cough on them? I mean, they gave me almost eight thousand dollars for the wreck, but what the fuck? I mean, no car I'd ever owned before even cost that much, let alone cost more than that to fix! These things are made of fucking eggs and toilet paper. And I don't feel any particularly safer in one than in my old, tough, bounced-off-a-guard-rail-at-40-mph-and-drove-away Volvos years ago.

In some ways, this is good. If I'd fixed the car and sold it, I'd barely have gotten six thousand for it, so this way, we can use this money to put a new engine in the diesel, fix the uninsured injuries to Suzanne's car, and probably still have a bunch left over.

Still, that was a damn fast and civil car to drive and I will miss it some. I won't miss its 24mpg.

Suzanne is now moved. The movers showed up with her stuff on Tuesday morning, and everything is now in the house. The house actually looks and feels quite different with her furniture in it, and it's for the better. We did a lot of cleaning in conjunction with the move, and I found a few old hidden spots of cat whiz I hadn't been able to locate before, so the house smells much nicer, as well. Suzanne's bed is, indeed, more comfortable than mine. I have been sleeping pretty well this week. Last night, we actually cooked dinner at home, something I haven't done in probably four or five years, since Nancy left.

Speaking of which, one of the things I found when cleaning was the court notice of our actual divorce. I put it away in the firebox for future amusement, right at the same time I was fishing around for the wrecked Passat's title so I could trade it to Allstate for a bunch of money.

It's strange... I had a dream last night where I found a lot of dollar bills at the bottom of a grate on the sidewalk, like it was years' worth of lost pocket change washed into the gutter, only 20s and 50s and stuff. Stuff that would be worth picking up. Not like actual pocket change.

Maryland beat up on Duke again last night, after having beaten #4-ranked North Carolina unexpectedly on Sunday. This has been a good season after all.


previous - next