People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Ice


February 16, 2007 - 1:04 p.m.

All sorts of grand adventures.

First, there's more dentware in the world. Suzanne, after having clipped a pickup truck bumper a week or two ago going home from here on I-95, got hit by some guy in a rental truck the other night coming home from work, screwing up the other side of her car. And I hit some ice and bent up the front of the red Passat, which was hauled away for repairs this morning... I got a generic sort of Hyundai as a rental last night.

However, Margaret has been located... she's been lurking in the basement since last week sometime. I left her some food, there's plenty of water in the sink down there, and Suzanne and I will work on persuading her to come back upstairs this weekend, mostly so that Phil, her brother, quits staring at me. He does that. I tell him, "look, tell me where your sister is, and I'll go get her, you moron!" He just stares at me, like, what are you going to do?

The other cats are just fine.

There was a great deal of ice here... three and a half inches' worth on my driveway, for example. I chipped a section out last night so that when the sun came out today it would help melt all the ice off. It'll be around 30 and sunny tomorrow, which will also help, and rainy and 50 by Wednesday, which is certain to help flood things in certain areas around here.

The single worst thing about Maryland is ice.

I did a fun little techno-stunt last night. I have an HP OfficeJet 6310 all-in-one device that I mentioned the other day. Well, in poking through the setup utility for it, I discovered a section devoted to Bluetooth. It said, "no Bluetooth device found," so I stuck a BT dingus in it (I have several lying around) and within two minutes was able to send images directly from my phone to the printer. No controls over how it printed, but it did indeed print them! Bluetooth isn't practical for large, high-resolution images, mostly because BT is shit-slow compared to even a USB 1.1 cable, but it's interesting to be able to go down, take a picture with the phone, and send it to the printer from almost anywhere in the house. I didn't even realize it had that feature.

Sometimes I should pay closer attention.

In other news, Suzanne and I are getting the dead TDI rebuilt as soon as we can find someone to do it. Not having even one reliable, accessible car was a thorough pain in the ass and I don't want it to occur again.


previous - next