People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

One of the lists


December 21, 2006 - 4:54 p.m.

It's that time of the year when I tend to recycle old words, so if you've read some of the next couple of entries before, sorry about that.

No, wait... no, I'm not.

This one came out of a conversation with Penny some years ago (January 14, 2004, exactly).

The Rudeness List

Times when you can pretty much count on me to be rude:
  1. When people waste my time, effort or money, or show strong indications that they are about to.
  2. When people don't do their jobs.
    1. When people do their jobs indifferently and badly.
    2. When people are bureaucratic and myopic.
  3. When people force their way into my consciousness or my business.
    1. When people interrupt me with an unrelated topic and blow my collection of thought.
    2. When people force me to interact with them unnecessarily in order to obtain what I need or want.
    3. When I'm being nagged.
  4. When people make assumptions into which I am expected to buy.
  5. When people do something dangerous.
  6. When people don't think or use common sense when I know or have reason to expect that they can.
  7. When people damage something into which I've invested time and effort.
  8. When I know someone can do better and I feel like there's no other motivation that will work.

When I absolutely am never rude:

  1. When I know someone is in pain
  2. When I know I'm asking for something beyond my own entitlement (i.e., special considerations, breaks, etc.)


previous - next