People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Cheap plastic crap


December 12, 2006 - 5:57 p.m.

Here it is, next week already. Slow-moving day at work, part of it spent over at Kaiser for more drugs. They referred me for a sleep study, even though the longer I go, the more sure I am that I just have problems getting to sleep... once I fall asleep, I'm fine, or at least no worse at it than anyone else.

Still, they gave me drugs. Let the Ambien Era begin.

The red Volkswagen has a mystery nick in its front right bumper. I can't figure out where it may have come from, since I don't remember hitting anything recently, so someone else must have bumped into me or something. Damn plastic cars now... I really will get my old 1979 Volvo wagon on the road. That thing has massive cast aluminum bumpers and there's almost no plastic on it anywhere there should be steel (as opposed to almost all current cars, where the whole nose is plastic and the bumpers can't even protect themselves, let alone the rest of the car). What happened to the 5-mph bumper standards? You know, you should be able to hit something at 5mph and come away with no damage, not even to the bumper itself. That always made sense to me. And my old Volvos could all do it.

Speaking of old Volvos, as soon as I can, I am putting Giselle up on eBay. That's the 1969 1800 sports coupe I bought some years ago. I've decided that owning it is not actually as satisfying as the idea of owning it. I don't fit in the car, it's noisy on the highway, the seats are thin and the visibility is the worst of any Volvo I've ever owned. It sure is cute, though. Just a rather expensive lump of cute that's taking up space in my driveway. Time for it (and some other things) to go.

Speaking of going, time to head off to play trivia.


previous - next