People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Almost the day


November 06, 2006 - 3:12 p.m.

I worry about stuff too much. Suzanne and I both spent most of the weekend catching up and rest and talking. And, yes, fooling around, and it was a lot of fun. I was just kinda porked off at how easily she fell asleep... like some of my readers, it takes me forever to get to sleep and I sort of envy people who can just collapse like that.

She could have at least taken her clothes off!

Tomorrow is Trow Da Bumz Out Day. I am pleased. It looks like the last gasp of that idiotic Contract On America that the Republicans pushed twelve years ago will die and Boooosh will end up the lamest of ducks, vainly trying to govern by executive order instead of by the consent of the governed. I was talking with Suzanne last night and I said that when a Democrat wins the White House again, it'll take their entire first term just to undo all the damage that Bush and his blow-buddies have caused... and that's just domestic destruction. The spying. The erosion of personal rights and freedoms. The overreaches of governmental intrusion. The limitations on free speech and travel. The caustic and expensive contracts given to Bush and Cheney's herd of ass-lickers.

Just getting the country un-fucked will take at least three or four years. Undoing the damage to America's image overseas could take eight or ten very dangerous years, maybe longer.

And then there's the investigations and prosecutions. What do you bet that Bush hands out pardons in the last few months of his regime at a rate double that of Bill Clinton? I hope he gets repetitive-stress disorder -- in his brain -- from pardoning all of his buddies.

Still, whoever's in the White House after him will likely be a single-termer, simply because he or she will have to focus so much on cleaning up the Bush messes that their own agenda will get neglected.

The TDI Passat continues to amaze me at the amount of diesel it will hold. I filled up at the Flying J in Penn's Grove, New Jersey on my way to work this morning. Diesel -- the new ultra-low-sulfur, non-smelly kind that's out now -- was $2.35 a gallon, twenty cents cheaper than the B5 biodiesel I get near me, and even though the gauge said there were still 7 gallons in the tank, it swallowed almost 21 more. Not bad for a putatively 18-gallon tank. I don't know where it puts it, but I'll be really annoyed if I go to pull the spare tire out from under the back deck and find it floating in diesel fuel.


previous - next