People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Yeah, I have a toxic customer


November 01, 2006 - 6:52 p.m.

It's the attack of the self-important bureaucrats!

Today, a web application I wrote was supposed to go live, right? Well this morning, instead of the OK from the group we wrote it for, we got an email containing no fewer than twenty-seven diddly-shit cosmetic changes this one low-grade bimbo wants before they'll "allow" us to fire the system up. "And we may have more," she said.

Hey, like you shitheads are doing me a FAVOR by "allowing" me to write a web application for you? An app that the main systems group at work already refused to write for you morons? We offer to do this app on short notice, we prototype up a fully-working site in less than three days, complete with your existing data in it, and now you're gonna nickel-and-dime us with bullshit things like "this should be capitalized," "that should be centered?"

This, at the same time that they haven't answered my substantive questions about real functionality on the site... like, "when your users search the site, what, exactly, do you want included in the search?" No, they don't answer that bullshit, and instead complain that I used a point size two pixels larger than their style guide mandates.

How's about you find somebody else to do you a fuckin' favor next time, huh? The gift horse is definitely getting tired of the dental exam. He's about to take a huge steaming dump on your desk.

In other stupid news, I am actively looking to dump E*Shit, who holds my home equity loan. My old mortgage guy is now in Hagerstown and doesn't always have the best rates, but I've worked with him for ten years and he's good.

Competence is welcome just now.


previous - next