People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Rain and stuff


October 06, 2006 - 2:49 p.m.

I have a new favorite domain name. I ran across this one while reading Craig's List last night:

http://www.profilesintoolness.com

Yep, most of the good ones are taken.

It rained all last night and most of the morning... and I discovered a mystery leak in the bedroom. What's odd about it is that it's leaking from the top of the window frame across the front of the house, and this windowframe is under the porch roof!. I went out and had a look at it, and what appears to be happening is that water is somehow getting under the porch roof, then dribbling backwards towards the house on top of the slat ceiling under the porch roof until it encounters the top of the windowframe, which is hidden by the ceiling boards. Hard to explain, easy to see when you see it in person. So, now I have to figure out how and why water isn't running down the metal roof and into the metal gutters, but instead ending up inside the porch roof. And I have to do it before too long, because otherwise the son-of-a-bitch will dry rot and fall off the house or something. All I can think is that leaves or maple helicopters or space junk has clogged the downpipe and the water is flipping backward off the inside edge of the gutter. And the gutter and downpipe are rather dangerous to try and reach out and clear.

Fark. Yet something else I have to pay someone else to come in and do, I guess.

Suzanne is coming down tonight after work, which means she gets to drive through rain most of the way. Her car is terrible in the rain. The Volkswagens are excellent in the wet... the red gas car is like a big otter, it absolutely doesn't care about water at all. The diesel is a little pickier, possibly because it has cheap tires on it and they're 14-inch rather than 15-inch rims. Either way, they both handle well and do predictable things, where Suzanne's Chevrolet seems to just do... anything.

And she wants me to work on its brakes this weekend. The rears, this time. They were making grumbly sounds when I was up there last, and I figure the right-rear pads are shot. They at least shouldn't be as expensive as the front pads were for that car... over $60 for even the low-end set. Argh. And it's going to rain Saturday, so Sunday will be sucked up doing brakes, I guess. Argh argh.

I think I'd be less grumpy if she were just down here and working a job she liked. Right now, all I tend to hear about is what a drag her internship is turning out to be and what a bunch of dorks she has to work with. Not the most pleasant thing to hear, but if it were balanced with other stuff, it'd be better.

Tiger Woods PGA 2006 is fucking pissing me off!


previous - next