People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

You young kids!


September 05, 2006 - 3:47 p.m.

Les Paul was amazing. The young kid at the table next to us at Iridium is someday gonna regret that instead of listening to Les play guitar and talk, he played games on his wireless phone and looked bored.

Suzanne and I wandered all over midtown... went to dinner at Rosie O'Grady's (which is also my first encounter with this device), got a new, smaller camera bag, looked at all the foofy stores up and down Fifth Avenue, and took lots of pictures. Then we went back to Iridium, where Les was finishing up his second set, and got a change (after much waiting) to talk to him a bit, get him to sign our CD and let us take pictures with him.

For the record, Les Paul drinks Clausthaler.

He's 91, he's amazing, and he attracts all sorts of interesting guests to sit in with his band. I wish I remembered the names of the two twentysomething women who came up and sang perfect harmonies for "Smoke Rings," which Les did with Mary Ford back in the 1950s. They were amazing.

The young kid wasn't paying attention.


previous - next