People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

More jerky


August 20, 2006 - 9:44 p.m.

Suzanne and I made another amazing batch of beef jerky this weekend. It's been hard not to devour all of it, but I am really trying to not overload on it. I want to save some for people at work and people at the bar I go to on Monday nights. It's amazing, amazing stuff, and dirt-cheap to make... $12 worth of quality beef and a few cents' worth of spices, dried for six or seven hours, and it leaves over a pound and a half of good jerky that would typically cost you $35 in stores.

We're waiting for the apple chips to be done now. So are the rabbits.

We've gotten a lot done this weekend. Suzanne rescued me Friday night, and on Saturday, I swapped in the other starter that came with the car, after taking it to Pep Boys to make sure it was working correctly. The old starter, after its extraction from the front of the engine compartment, was jammed solid, burned up. Oh, well. The whole task took less than an hour, much less time than we spent out shopping for tools and clothes in the morning. Suzanne found two great suits and two pairs of heels, one a little impractical -- white pointy leather sling-backs -- and one quite cute -- round-toed black leather heels for work.

On Heather's advice, we also got a couple of pairs of micro-fishnet tights. Not the slutty ones pole-dancers and fetishists wear, but a much smaller weave that's really only visible up close, but which Heather says are much cooler and sexier in the summer. When it comes to anything involving legs, I believe Heather.

Gar, what else did we do this weekend? Went swimming, took a lot of pictures, fixed her cable television (rabbits had chewed the cable up), set up her printer to print wonderful pictures, and tried but failed to fix the overhead lights inside her car.

And I taught her the basics of how to drive a five-speed transmission. She didn't harm the car, herself or anyone else, so I'm hoping on some future trip -- like to visit my father on his birthday in a couple of weeks -- that she'll be able to share driving in the diesel Passat.

Tomorrow morning on my way to work, I will stop off at the last exit on the New Jersey Turnpike to buy diesel for an amazing $2.77 a gallon. True, with barely 150 miles on the current tank, I don't need a lot, but I'd like to buy it just to say I did it.

There's a certain cachet to that.

I am just horribly in love with Suzanne. We had another long talk last night out on the deck of the place in Hightstown where we had dinner Saturday night, and worked out a lot of philosophical and logistical stuff that will make it a lot easier for us to live together. Hopefully, soon.

Just about time for me to sleep, and to plug the iBook in for the night. Suzanne is getting up at 5:30 to go to an early function at work.

I... am not.


previous - next