People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Jerky


August 16, 2006 - 11:46 a.m.

Well, the verdict on the beef jerky I made last night is that it's quite good. No, that's not just me saying... I passed around some samples at work, and there was much chewing. One guy said I should be careful about letting too many people know about it.

"You might start getting requests."

So, add "maker of beef jerky" to the list of things I decided I wanted to try and was able to do decently. By the way, I can now vouch for the NESCO "American Harvest" food dehydrator. Didn't use much energy, it was quiet, didn't even have to read the manual to get it going. Fill it, set it and forget it, as their competitor, Ron Popeil, would say.

So, I have meatsnacks.

I also finally set up the HP OfficeJet 6310 we bought last weekend at CompUSA. It's an elegant unit, fairly easy to set up (though the Mac OS X installer flaked out a couple of times and had to be lectured into obedience) and the output is magnificent. On plain paper, it's just fine, but for images on HP photo paper, it is just magnificent. I literally cannot tell the difference between a film print and one of the high-resolution shots from my Nikon D50 printed on this sucker. It's remarkable, and it was dirt cheap.

I didn't talk to Suzanne at all yesterday, except for a couple of emails and a short burst of IM. I do like that neither of us has gotten clingy, and that we're secure enough that if we don't actually talk in a particular day, nobody freaks out, nobody acts hurt, nobody jumps to horrible (and wrong) conclusions.

I am gnawing on another piece of jerky. It's pretty addictive.

That's the really appealing thing about her: it just feels... secure. As if even though we've only known each other around three months, we don't have to worry about things. We'll be there.

I like that.

I also like this jerky.


previous - next