People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Hotness


August 02, 2006 - 3:42 p.m.

I am yet again biting the bullet and doing my own work on the Volkswagen. I took it over to a place that specializes in air conditioning work, since the AC is still not functioning -- it is 99 degrees here right now -- and they said that they wouldn't be able to get to it until Monday or Wednesday of next week, and it'd end up being about a thousand dollars.

Scruit. After they called with the estimate, I hit thepartsbin.com and found just what I needed, for several hundred dollars less than they said they could get it all for, and even with overnight shipping, it's only $340. My time is worthless, and therefore free. I've done this sort of thing many times before, something that impresses Suzanne, but really doesn't even faze me now. If someone else can't do something soon enough or inexpensively enough, I do it myself. I have all the tools, the skills and motivation, all I really need is the time and the need. If the parts show up tomorrow, great... I'll do it tomorrow night. If they show up sometime Friday, it gets a little trickier. I'll probably just take the gas car up to Suzanne's this weekend.

More than five hundred dollars' book-time labor to undo four bolts, four Allen screws and redo two seals and a belt. I can do that. I've done it for years.

Anyway, it's phenomenally hot here. Not the most pleasant day to be riding around in a black car without air conditioning.


previous - next