People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

No train wrecks for me!


July 31, 2006 - 12:21 p.m.

Here we are, the last day of the month, and I haven't written anything in days. When Suzanne comes to visit, that sort of thing tends to happen. I'm too busy going out and living life to spend time writing about it. Monday morning comes, and she goes home, and I have plenty of time to tell you about stuff.

Anyway, among other things, Suzanne has now been to a tractor show.

The heat was appalling enough that I limited outdoor activity after Saturday. These days, when I sweat, it can be measured in gallons per hour, all other measures being insufficient. It's almost to the point that I can't even go into the house often enough to get cold spring water. I went through at least two gallons this weekend.

Speaking of water, we went over to Berkeley Springs, West Virginia on Sunday and got a couple of gallons of water from the springs. I don't like the taste of it as much as I like mine... different mineral compounds make for a different taste, I guess. My spring is still running, though the flow has slowed. There's a chance of thunderstorms literally every day for the next week, so hopefully there'll be some recharge. I don't want that thing going dry for months again; I've gotten used to it.

I did do some surgery on the new Passat, to attempt to fix the air conditioner (a necessary survival item this week when it's supposed to top 100 degrees here). I replaced a component the previous owner thought might be bad, but was only able to get intermittent cold air out of the vents. This morning, coming in to work, the air refused to work until I was nearly at work, and then it chilled down just fine.

I would prefer that this car not be a brat.

I also received a digital gauge I ordered last week. It worked in every car I plugged it into... except the black Passat, the car for which I ordered it. It refused to even talk to it. It worked terrifically well in Suzanne's car and in the red Passat, but would not even communicate with the computer in the TDI. I sent the ScanGauge people an email asking them about this, but haven't heard anything back yet.

I am more or less set on the idea of not attending my nephew's wedding in September. I just can't see it. The whole situation is a fucking train wreck and I don't want to devote my weekend, the weekend after my birthday, to witnessing it get even stupider. If I haven't explained about my nephew, ask, and I'll write about it. I thought I had after last Christmas, when his wife-to-be lectured me about how it was "unnatural" for people my age not to have had children, and how my vasectomy could be reversed.

Yeah. Like I wanna see this girl glued onto my extended family.

I'd rather stay home or be with Suzanne.

Time for lunch.


previous - next